Noor Al Hawa wins feature
December 05 2019 11:22 PM
Trainer George Mikhaldes (left) receives the trophy from QREC CEO Nasser Sherida al-Kaabi after Noor Al Hawa won the Al Safliya Cup yesterday. PICTURES: Juhaim

By Sports Reporter/ Doha

Al Wasmiyah Farm’s Noor Al Hawa won a top-quality Al Safliya Cup (Qatar Listed) contest at the Qatar Racing and Equestrian Club’s Al Rayyan Park yesterday.
Noor Al Hawa, the 2016 Qatar Derby winner, beat last year’s Derby winner Full Moon, as jockey Tom Marquand guided his second winner yesterday, having guided Mohamed Hamad al-Attiyah-trained Al Faisaliya to a maiden victory earlier in the day.
It was a big day for Qatari apprentice rider Meteb Ali al-Marri, who rode two winners, including Saeed Mohamed Shafi al-Shafi’s Al Mikdam in a Thoroughbred Handicap and Mohamed Ali Yousef al-Sheeb’s Kasser in the Local Purebred Arabian Conditions event.
Qatari Jockey of the Year Award winner Faleh Bughanaim registered his first victory of the season when he opened the meeting yesterday with a win astride Al Shaqab Racing’s Alghaf in a maiden.
The win was the first of three for trainer Alban de Mieulle, who also saddled Umm Qarn’s Jabalah and another Al Shaqab horse — Meblish — to contrasting victories. While Soufiane Saadi helmed Jabalah to a three-length victory in a maiden, Ronan Thomas guided Meblish to a close victory by a head.
Thomas was also aboard handicap winner On The Front Line, while champion trainer Jassim Mohamed Ghazali had to be content with one victory on the day, courtesy Harry Bentley-ridden Wayside Flower in a six-furlong sprint.
Also shedding her maiden status on the day was Ahmed Kobeissi-trained Naima, who won under Ryan Curatolo.

Race 1: Alghaf (Faleh Bughanaim), 2. RS Rasheeda (Ronan Thomas), 3. Joudy (Ryan Curatolo), 4. Alsdry (Gary Sanchez). Won by: 1 ¼, 3 ¾, 2 ¾. Time: 1:46.73. Owner: Al Shaqab Racing. Trainer: Alban de Mieulle.
Race 2: 1. Jabalah (Soufiane Saadi), 2. Ginkeau (Pier Convertino), 3. AJS Soghan (Alexander Reznikov), 4. Al Addaaj (Meteb Ali al-Marri). Won by: 3, 10 ½, 3 ¼. Time: 1:45.74. Owner: Umm Qarn. Trainer: Alban de Mieulle.
Race 3: 1. Al Faisaliya (Tom Marquand), 2. Malik (Faleh Bughanaim), 3. Luqta RS (Ronan Thomas), 4. Sky Blue (Eduardo Pedroza). Won by: 3 ¾, Nk, 3. Time: 1:39.89. Owner: Al Sakab Stud. Trainer: Mohamed Hamad al-Attiyah.
Race 4: 1. Naima (Ryan Curatolo), 2. Razad (Soufiane Saadi), 3. Echo De Faust (Eduardo Pedroza), 4. AJS Al Uraiq (Ronan Thomas). Won by: 3 ½, ½, 1 ½. Time: 2:05.04. Owner: Jassim bin Ali al-Attiyah. Trainer: Ahmed Kobeissi.
Race 5: 1. Meblish (Ronan Thomas), 2. AJS Jamra (JB Eyquem), 3. Taysh (Rashid Ali Al Marri), 4. Daloob (Faleh Bughanaim). Won by Hd, Shd, 3 ½. Time: 1:45.79. Owner: Al Shaqab Racing. Trainer: Alban de Mieulle.
Race 6: 1. Al Mikdam (Meteb Ali al-Marri), 2. Braemar (Ali Khalid al-Mosallam), 3. Majdi (Faleh Bughanaim), 4. Istibdad (Abdulaziz Jaber Dharman). Won by: No, 2, 3 ¾. Time: 1:53.76. Owner: Saeed Mohamed Shafi al-Shafi. Trainer: Saeed Mohamed Shafi al-Shafi.
Race 7: 1. On The Front Line (Ronan Thomas), 2. Woodkid (Tomas Lukasek), 3. Shaheen (Ivan Rossi), 4. French Encore (Al Moatasem al-Balushi). Won by: Hd, 1 ½, 1 ¼. Time:1:23.58. Owner: Nasser Owaida Salem al-Hajri. Trainer: Hadi Nasser al-Ramzani.
Race 8: 1. Wayside Flower (Harry Bentley), 2. Harry’s Dancer (Ronan Thomas), 3. Flying Empress (Marco Casamento), 4. Qatar Dance (Pier Convertino). Won by: 1 ½, No, 2. Time: 1:11.98. Owner: Injaaz Stud. Trainer: Jassim Mohamed Ghazali.
Race 9: 1. Kasser (Meteb Ali al-Marri), 2. Zahwa (JP Guillambert), 3. Nomas Al Shajaa (Ryan Curatolo), 4. Lekhraib (Harry Bentley). Won by: 3 ½, 1 ¾, ½. Time: 1:18.57. Owner: Mohamed Ali Yousef al-Sheeb. Trainer: Mohamed Ali Yousef al-Sheeb.
Race 10: 1. Noor Al Hawa (Tom Marquand), 2. Full Moon (Ryan Curatolo), 3. Quelindo (Ivan Rossi), 4. Otwo (Luca Maniezzi). Won by: 1 ¼, 1 ¾, 1. Time: 2:29.73. Owner: Al Wasmiyah Farm. Trainer: Georges Mikhalides.

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*