SIIMA concludes on a high note, Mohanlal 'Most Popular Actor in Middle East'
August 17 2019 12:50 AM
Popular south Indian actor Mohanlal speaks after presenting the lifetime achievement award to actres
Popular south Indian actor Mohanlal speaks after presenting the lifetime achievement award to actress Menaka and her husband, producer Suresh Kumar, as their daughter and Indian National Film Awards best actress winner Keerthy Suresh looks on. PICTURES: Jayan Orma

The star-studded eighth annual Pantaloons South Indian International Movie Awards (SIIMA) concluded at a glittering ceremony at the Lusail Sports Arena Friday on its second night with electrifying performances that included songs and dances. 
The second day witnessed celebrations, award distribution and honouring Tamil and Malayalam cinema. The evening started with a prayer in solidarity with the flood affected Kerala followed by a classical dance performance by Nikhila Vimal and few performances by Saniya Iyyapan and Andrea Jeremiah. 

Tamil best actor Dhanush

Malayalam best critic award winning actor Prithviraj Sukumaran

Malayalam best actor Tovino Thomas

Tamil best critic award winning actress Trisha

Malayalam best director Sathyan Anthikkad

Apart from Malayalam superstars Mohanlal and Prithviraj Sukumaran, Tamil superstar Dhanush, National Award winning south Indian actress Keerthy Suresh, young Malayalam actor Tovino Thomas and a number of other actors, singers, directors, writers, music directors, producers and technicians were present. 
They included Anirudh Ravichand, Vignesh Shivan, Sathyan Anthikkad, Sanjana Galrani, Radhika Sarathkumar, Menaka, Yogi Babu, Aishwarya Lekshmi, Trisha, Aishwarya Rajesh, Varalaxmi Sarath Kumar, Vijay Yesudas, Radhika Sharath Kumar, Aju Varghese, Roshan Mathew and Sharafudheen. 
Indian ambassador P Kumaran and his Sri Lankan counterpart Kithsiri Athulathmudali were among the other dignitaries.

A dance performance at the event

Mohanlal, who won the Most Popular Actor in Middle East, expressed his gratitude to his supporters and Qatar residents and urged all to stay with the deluge hit Kerala and support it to overcome the hardship. The South Indian superstar received Best Male Debut Actor Award (Malayalam) on behalf of his son Pranav and said he is a proud father. He also presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to actress Menaka and producer Suresh Kumar, who are the parents of actress Keerthy Suresh. 
The show which continued late into the night also marked distribution of more than 20 awards. Tovino Thomas won the best actor award in Malayalam. Prithviraj Sukumaran took home the best critic award male in Malayalam and Trisha the female award in Tamil.
Dhanush was adjudged the best actor in Tamil for Vada Chennai, which went on to win the best critic film award.

A view of the audience 

Sathyan Anthikkad and Pandiraj were the best directors in Malayalam and Tamil, respectively, for Njan Prakashan and Kadaikutty Singam. R D Rajesekhar and Gireesh Ganghadharan received best cinematographer awards in Tamil and Malayalam, respectively for Imaika Nodigal and Swathanthryam Ardharathriyil. 
The best Tamil film was Pariyerum Perumal directed by Pa Ranjith. The best Malayalam film was Sudani from Nigeria directed by Zakaraiya Mohamed, who also took home the best debut director award in Malayalam.
Lyrics writer awards went to Vignesh Siva and Vinayak Sasikumar in Tamil and Malayalam, respectively. Antony Dasan and Vijay Yesudas were selected as the best male playback singers in Tamil and Malayalam, respectively. Dhee and Sithara Krishnan won best female playback singers. 
Raiza Wilson and Dinesh Master emerged to be the best debut actors in Tamil along with Saniya Ayyappan and Pranav Mohanlal in Malayalam. Nelson Dilipkumar was the best debut director in Tamil. 
Easwary Rao and Prakash Raj were best actors in a supporting role in Tamil while Lena and Roshan Mathew won the same award in Malayalam. Yogi Babu and Aju Varghese won the best comedian awards. Samantha won Style Icon Award while Kathir was elected for overall best performance. 
The show was held in collaboration with Qatar National Tourism Council as part of Qatar-India Year of Culture 2019. 
The previous editions of SIIMA were held in countries such as Singapore and Malaysia. The other partners were: Ministry of Culture and Sports, Qatar Airways, Teyseer Motors, W Doha, Doha Bank, Al Mana Leasing, Gulf Car, Royal Regis, Talabat, Rayyan Water, and 98.6 Radio Malayalam.

SIIMA - Telugu and Kannada 

Award for Best Actor in a Leading Role (Male)

Ram Charan for Rangasthalam

Award for Best Actor in a Leading Role (Male – Critics) Telugu:

Vijay Devarakonda for Geetha Govindham

Award for Best Director

Sukumar for Rangasthalam

Award for Best Film Telugu


Award for Most Popular Celebrity On Social Media

Vijay Devarakonda

Award for Best Actor in a Negative Role

Sarath Kumar for Na Peru Surya Na Illu India 

Award for Best Comedian

Satya for Chalo

Award for Best Debutant Actor Telugu (Male)

Kalyaan Dhev for Vijetha

Award for Best Debutant Actor Telugu(Male)

Kalyaan Dhev for Vijetha

Award for Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male)

Rajendra Prasad for Mahanati

Award for Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female)

Anasuya Bharadwaj for Rangasthalam

Award for Best Debutant Actor (Female)

Payal Rajput for RX100

Award for Best Music Director Telugu

Devi Sri Prasad for Rangasthalam

Award for Best Playback Singer (Male)

Anurag Kulkarni ( Pilla Raa ) – RX100

Award for Best Playback Singer (Female)

M.M.Manasi ( Rangamma Mangamma ) – Rangasthalam

Award for Best Lyricist Telugu

Chandrabose ( Yentha Sakkagunave ) – Rangasthalam

Award for Best Cinematographer Telugu

R Rathnavelu for Rangasthalam

Award for Best Actor In A Leading Role (Female)

Keerthy Suresh for Mahanati

Award for Best Actor in a Leading Role (Female – Critics) Telugu

Samantha for Rangasthalam

Award for Best Art Director 

S.Rama Krishna for Rangasthalam

Special Appreciation Award (Jury) for the year 2019

Naga Sudheer Babu

Source: Sakshi

Last updated: August 17 2019 01:01 AM

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*