Season comes to an end with glittering QFA awards ceremony
May 22 2016 10:56 PM
QFA president Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa bin Ahmed al-Thani with the winners at the QFA Awards Ceremony. PICTURE: Anas Khalid

By Sports Reporter/Doha

In the presence of Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa bin Ahmed al-Thani, President, Qatar Football Association (QFA) on Saturday marked the end of the season with a glittering ceremony where Al Rayyan star Rodrigo Tabata emerged as the Player of the Year.
Thanks largely to Tabata’s form, Al Rayyan swept all before them to win the QSL title ahead of El Jaish, Al Sadd and Lekhwiya – the top four teams in Qatar this season.
Other winners on Saturday at Qatar National Convention Centre included Jorge Fossati who bagged the ‘Coach of the Year’ award.
Al Sadd’s Abdulkareem Hassan was adjudged the “Best Young Player of the Year”.
El Jaish’s Abdulrazzaq Hamadallah picked up the ‘top Scorer’ award along with Tabata. Both players scored 21 goals in the season.
Qatari international Meshal Abdullah of Al Ahli won QR102,000 for his 102 career goals, a tally that he reached this season.
El Jaish won the award for “Best Club’.
“I take this opportunity to thank my family, my team-mates and the fans for their whole-hearted support over the season,” Tabata said.
Fossati said: “This is something I must not receive alone. My full team should be here, my players, the staff, the managers.”
Sheikh Hamad said: “It was a great season. We got to see quality football. I say congratulations to the winners tonight. We wish the teams good luck next season.”

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*